2004-07-21

1. I got a jury duty summons - my second one. Serves me right for registering to vote. It's the worst kind: municipal. Which is like drunk driving and various types of theft. I would get paid my normal salary while I'm there, but here's the thing: I'd just rather be working 12-14 hours on a project in my office. So I'm going to have one of the partners excuse me.

This brings me to why the jury system doesn't work. It's people like me. I think the bulk of intelligent, reasonable people who aren't easily led mentally astray by talk radio ideologues or talking men in suits don't care to serve on a jury or aren't selected. I would feel very confident in a jury of MY peers - men in starched oxfords, pleated slacks and wingtips who aren't alcoholics, drug addicts or live by some type of odd moral code - arriving at the right decision (so you could easily argue that I should perform my civic duty if I really wanted my jury to be of my peers), but I don't think that's what juries are about - it's about easily manipulating people. And thus, because I have a shitty attitude about the legal system, I would never get picked anyway.

2. Two men on the bus were discussing sandwiches and the tendencies of certain named men. It seems men who have named derived from Christian lore - Peter, Paul or John, they offered as examples - have difficulty deciding on their sandwich or toppings. Men who have Greek names - Stephen, Nicholas - are decisive and confident in their sandwich escapades. I'm reasonably sure this cannot be verified as true.

3. Chicken Scampi Chicken breast tenderloins, saut�ed with bell peppers, roasted garlic and onions in a garlic cream sauce over angel hair. 12.25

scam�pi (n. pl.) Large shrimp broiled or saut�ed and served in a garlic and butter sauce. [Italian, pl. of scampo, a kind of lobster]

Apparently Darden Restaurants, Inc (NYSE:DRI) has engineered genetically some time of crustacean-chicken creature that goes by the seemingly innocuous name "Chicken Scampi." Probably because "Lobsterchicken" or "Amphibious Chicken-Shrimp Monster" sounds wrong. Also, I think in the given dining context "tenders" is more appropriate than "tenderloins."

4. I was reading something that the largeness of SUVs connotes emptiness - that you use big to indicate that something is missing, something needs therapy. It reminded me of something DFW used in Broom of the System: the universe is split into Self and Other. We hate loneliness, so we can either entice the Other to become closer to us (through being attractive - the normal course) or we can allow the Self to become of infinite size (the unhealthy choice), squeezing the Other out and making it a part of the Self (ignore the notion of an ever expanding universe, etc). My neighbor's Suburban is an outward manifestation of their poor self-esteem, feelings of insecurity about the universe and their means of coping with these insecurities - which is to fill the universe with themselves.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com