2004-08-01

There's a couple that I saw trying to play chess. I don't know how to plya chess, but I know that certain pieces can move certain ways. As I watched what they were doing, I realized it wasn't chess. They were using chess pieces to play checkers.

Whoever said that living well is the best revenge was wrong. Preventative revenge is the best. Before someone has a chance to wrong you, you get revenge on them. The problem is that it makes you live a week or two in the future. If you realize you're going to need toothpaste, figure out where you're going to buy it, scope out the location, see who the cashiers are and if any of them look like they are going to cheat you. If they are, you let a family of raccoons live in the back of their car. Living a preventative revenge lifestyle causes you to be very aware of your surroundings and personal choices. Some would say "enlightened". Soon you'll be seeing opportunities for preventative revenge popping up all over the place.

Who finances these movies? It seems absolutely inconceivable to me that sane grownups would actually invest their money into a movie about superhero babies. The only explanation I can think of is someone who manages a person's money greenlighted this before they quit - like the movie equivalent of taking a crap on your boss's desk.

Movies that I can think of that are about presidentiary daughters: "Chasing Liberty" (which was called "First Daughter" earlier in its life), "First Daughter". Presidentiary sons: "First Kid" (a Sinbad movie). I haven't seen any of these movies, but I have seen the trailers, so I know all about them. Chasing Liberty is more for the person who makes poor, rash decisions - often impulsive, doesn't like to think very hard about things or finds that difficult. First Daughter is for the pensive soul, one who deliberates and imagines implications and possibilities, but is often overwhelmed by possibility or feels trapped by circumstance and has a difficult time exercising human agency. First Kid is for people interestd in Sinbad, whether a fan or for sociological/academic purposes - one may wonder what ever was his appeal.

I think I need to buy a new belt. My smallest brownish one is on its smallest hole. Fine, I guess - I'm finally getting rid of the latent baby fat that I've been hanging onto, but I'm also worried that I'm going to need to get my suits tailored. When I was thinking about this, the thought of getting some bespoke shirts made entered my mind, but I realized I'd probably have to iron those. And it somehow comes off as being more than a little dandy-ish to me to have shirts made.

I've seen a number of things that say that young couples just want money for wedding presents. I think this is okay - if you do it right. Wait until after the wedding to send your check. With your check, include a scoresheet that explains they could've received $X, but because of the following problems, I am only enclosing $Y. The scoresheet would have sections for the other guests (were they personable? did they dress well and appear showered? were many of them drunk?), the food, the length of it, the location, the overall execution, artistic interpretation, innovation (funnel cakes and cotton candy, for example).

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com