2004-08-10

The only sports event where I feel any inclination toward the "USAUSAUSAUSAUSA" stuff - the Ryder Cup - begins soon. I feel much, much less if the Euro team has any out of shape guys like Colin Montgomerie - I, myself soft, have an extra-soft spot for soft men who have to spend their days around in-shape men.

I used to play a lot of golf. At one point it was 3 or 4 rounds a week - which wasn't particularly financially draining since I played for free when there were open tee times. My friend and I would buy a Sprite or lemonade afterward and seemed very pleased with ourselves that we had taken it upon ourselves to inherit what is, next to wife-swapping and car collecting, the activity most enjoyed by rich white men.

I don't really play at all anymore. No car means that you kind of have to lug clubs on a bus when you want to practice at a range. Golf hogs large blocks of time, too. I find it's easier to play video golf. But my friend? He is no longer "with us". By that I mean he majored in English lit and is now an over-the-top fish enthusiast. As in, he gets his paycheck and then buys fish or fish tank acccessories. A road diverged in the wood and he took the path that led to fish tanks and questionable hygiene, I took the one that was consulting and soda pop. I stand by my choice, he stands by his.

Word/phrase I either don't use often enough or use far too often: pee-shy.

Band for you to like: Trash Can Sinatras

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com