2004-09-10

So I went to go buy the Fall 2004 update to my wardrobe - some dark grey pants, a new sweater, shirts. I held off on buying the pants because I remembered I had some stuck in the back of my closet. From like 3 years ago. I'd never taken the tags off of them. Both are lovely wool trousers, one is a dark heatherish grey (gray?) and the other is really dark flat grey, possibly black, possibly blue. I don't really know. But I was pleased to find them and welcome them into regular wardrobe rotation.

I've said it before, but I just don't get dating. All semi-structured relationships, really. And it goes beyond just my aversion to touching. When someone says something about boyfriends or girlfriends, I cannot for the life of me figure out why I should want one or vice versa. It's like one of those bullshit Magic Eye things, maybe? I don't know. But I'm positive this will come up when I'm out to dinner with my parents.

The other thing is that when you even talk about this with someone, esp a girl, you keep hearing the same meaningless platitude: "All I'm looking for someone to make me laugh" or something about a sense of humor being most important. It's not true, I think. Because the people that probably make you laugh are actually kind of miserable people. Let's be honest: who reads a book about the middle ages and says, "Boy, I'd sure like to have a sustained, meaningful relationship with the court jester and also have lots of sex with him"? No. It's the knight. It's always the knight.

September's food theme: Indian food. Samosa <> mimosa.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com