2004-10-03

I saved drama for my mama. Instead of idling about it here, I went home and idled about it with my mother and father while we watched my sister project her forceful, thoughtful, impassioned cheers on a semi-interested audience, numb from watching a very bad football team, for an evening.

At the football game, there were 2 small girls - maybe 4 or 5 years old - making eyes at me. I'm a young, non-threatening Santa Claus-ish face - chubby, round features and a corn cob pipe. I think this is why I appeal to very young girls. And my glasses make my face fun to stare at. It was the same way when I started teaching swimming lessons and lifeguarding 7 or 8 years ago. But something obviously shifts between age 5 and 20-25, because I get absolutely nothing from girls my age. If you could shed light on this (beyond the really obvious stuff, I mean), I'd appreciate it.

But because of some office politickin', I'm headed out of town for 2 weeks. This sort of upsets me, but I accent-choo-ate the positive: expense account dining. This place is largely chain restaurants and what have you, but I am determined to seek out interesting places that have people who are interested in food, not just eating. 14 days times 3 meals per day = 42 meals. The other nice thing is that it's 2 weeks in the same city, so I'm not making a home in the airport. I can have some semblance of a human existence.

Which reminds me, I got a haircut a few weeks ago (the need for one may have been mentioned here) and haircuts aren't supposed to be existential, but I feel mine are. Not because hair is an extension of my Self or Ego, but because of my relationship problems. I can't go to the same haircutter twice because I tell a lot of lies during the polite barber banter and I can't keep up with them (mine are mild, unimportant lies, but they are lies nonetheless) and the larger issue is that I also feel absolutely filthy after that haircut. At expensive barbers that are intended for men only, they are staffed exclusively by women with large boobs, so the experience ends up feeling very, very close to a lapdance. When you walk out, it's like you are exiting an adult bookstore or something. Haircuts ought to be refreshing, not shame-inducing. Maybe I have too high of standards for humanity or something. Anyway, there's no way I can go back there. I'm going to try cutting my own hair or just letting it grow out or something. Or finding a barber that doesn't fucking talk to me.

I'm getting rid of my laptop, too. Mom is taking it and I'm replacing it with either an iBook or PowerBook. I'm going to become a self-righteous Mac user and I am so excited.

I hope you have a lovely Unity Day, if you are German. If not, then I hope you have a frank and productive Sunday.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com