2004-11-07

Curious email - received today:
Date: Sun, 16 May 2004 03:57:22 +0000
Subject: Order Confirmation
From: [email protected]
To: me

Everything in the email is correct - it details an order I placed in May and the address is right and everything - it's not spam, since all the spam I get now is intended for Christian singles or people interested in seeing hot moms "str!p!!!". However, it is now November 7th. Which means this email appeared in my inbox almost 6 months late. It's not their date header being wrong, either - I haven't bought anything online from them since then, I received this package a long time ago and the address they show is the old one. I wonder how many other 6 month old emails I'll get. It's a good idea, I think - it lends a sort of "1800s trans-Atlantic letter writing" quality to email. Maybe the serious time lag will cause people to think more about what they're writing and stop using "ur" and "cuz".

If u want to go to lunch or dinner at a 25 for 25 restaurant, let me know cuz

Also, I got my favorite piece of spam today: "Vote: Rolex or Breitling?"Who doesn't have experience with a wide array of multi-thousand dollar "timepieces"? And because of those experiences, who doesn't have strong, well-informed opinions about these things? There's a custom yacht builder that I walk by all the time, and I have no idea what kind of reputation they have or if their yachts leak or they if they try to screw you by not using cheap gold on the in-lay in your toilet seat. Maybe they could spam out a survey about custom yacht builders? I'd actually like to get some plans for a boat that they were going to throw out and hang them in my office as a talking point. I think the carefree, bon vivant nautical lifestyle is on its way back.

Robb Benson songs on iTunes. "West Edge" on De Stella Nova is a good use of 99 cents. There aren't any Dear John Letters or Nevada Bachelors on iTunes ("Marla" and "Buddy" on Hello Jupiter are both 2 minutes of musical malt liquor - delicious, forceful and the chorus stuck in my head for hours).

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com