2005-11-22

I haven't done anything at work for the last month or so. Mostly I write letters to celebrities I have crushes on (that I'll never send) and read books or listen to music. Today/tomorrow I'm going to spend most of the day in a coffee shop, drinking tea, reading and dizzying myself with duality of hating every last person I see but being jealous of how normal and well-adjusted they are.

I got a haircut. My barber claimed he lost $35,000 in the stock market. This kind of stuff is the reason why I don't go to the same hair place twice. I had an idea for a barber - like former physics professors or just guys who can give really interesting lectures for 15-30 minutes that just riff on quantum theory and blow your mind while you're getting a trim. Then I'd actually be thrilled to go get my haircut and would probably set up a standing appointment (The implementation of this idea, I think, would be giving staff that has hair skills some kind of training in physics or sociology or post-modern furniture design about once every 2 weeks.)

I think I'm planning on going to Chicago to eat at some fancy restaurants with some of my food geek friends there and push ice around in Tom Collins glasses while we breathe with the weight of our worries - which range from the reasons why you can't stop eating Wheat Thins to the dirty look the female security guard gives you on the way in every morning to how and why your friend from high school is almost a caricature depicting Baudrillard's vision of America.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com