2006-03-16

Guy sitting behind me on train was having a conversation about ham radio. It was one sided, basically, because you are not going to find a lot of people interested in ham radio. And his audience sounded as unimpressed as I was. He just kept talking about ham radio. I bet if you let him talk about for 45 minutes or so, he would like the decline in ham radio use to teenage pregnancy, global warming, poor test scores, malnourishment and massive layoffs. I do not know if I prefer this to the people sitting in front of me, who were discussing their problems with the police and diagnosing each other's medical issues. It's kind of like peer-to-peer medicine. I believe this is is a concept that could solve the health care crisis. If we'd just turn to our neighbors and ask each other more medical questions instead of so quickly running to those thieves in the so-called "medical" community, we'd all be better off. For example, if you have rotten toenails, I know you have to use Lamisil, except if you are pregnant or something.

I AM GOING TO FORM AN INDIE ROCK BAND. What I am not interested in: playing music. What I am interested in: being in the greatest indie rock band ever.

If you share my vision for wanting to form the greatest indie rock band ever, but also do not want to make music, then please contact me.

We will mostly hang out, drive around in a van, talk crap about bands we think suck (this is almost any band who sells more than about 2500 copies of an album), accuse people of selling out (this encompasses just about anything you can think of: playing shows, selling albums, making an album, having your own apartment, having a checking account, recycling), complain about labels, complain about radio, complain about audiences, complain about "scenes" in various cities, complain about touring, complain about rock critics/music magazines, and we will ALWAYS talk about what it was like "back then" (an ill-defined period of time in the past, characterized mostly by it being "real" and "it's not like now").

This is the agenda I have for the band's first 6 months or so:
-Find some guys (maybe 1 girl) who believe the band's aesthetic and creative vision, which is mostly about complicated haircuts.
-We need to choose a name that isn't stupid, like all those other bands that we're going to talk crap about. We aren't going to have "Collective" in our name.
-Make some T-shirts
-Get signed to a label, so we can complain about it (if this isn't happening as quickly as we'd like, we can just make up a label and sign ourselves to that)
-Figure out the easiest way for us get an 8.5 (or higher) Pitchfork review for an album that doesn't exist
-Get a van for our "tour"
-Have some intra-band drama about creative issues, sexual relationships or both
-Take some time off to "collaborate" on other "projects"

Let me know if you want to be in my band. It will be awesome.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com