2006-05-31

This is a really good idea that I am offering FREE TO THE WORLD (must give credit to me or whoever actually first came up with this): one-off, custom CDs of songs performed just for you. For example, a band - let us call them The A Band - offers this service. What you do is pay a large sum of money ($250-500, maybe more if it's a large band or just price it by how popular/annoying each song is + a base fee) and request a few songs. The A Band plays the songs, record them to a computerized format, burn a CD, and send it to you. No one else has that instance of those songs. I figure it's a good way for bands with rich fans to take more of their money and it gives bands something to do during the day. The way this would work is that it wouldn't be a complicated studio - more like a basement or something. Just get the sound on the CD and send it out. That's all that matters. One take only, with mistakes.

I'm working on becoming a real-life postmodern superhero. I'm going to call myself "The Complainer" or "Complainant" or something like that. Something about complaining.

I think of myself like Batman - I do not have a superpower, but I am driven by a sense of justice/revenge and so I complain about stuff. For example, a few months ago I got some unsolicited mail whose envelope design violated the Washington Administrative Code. I complained. Several days ago I received the notice that said the senders of the illegally designed envelope were taken care of... with extreme prejudice. I also take great joy in reporting people who live in Washington but license their cars in Oregon to avoid paying the much higher licensing fees here. Really like doing that.

The Complainer, I think, strikes a chord with the late capitalist comic book reader because he basically stays in his house and fills out online forms and he only really leaves to go to work or get groceries, but that's mostly just providing fuel for his complaint furnace. No, none of this is really visually fulfilling, but it's more about voyeurism and how full of disgust/hate we all are. When you see that goon frogmarched into a courthouse on TV, that feels really good. The Complainer chases that feeling.

The Complainer has some stuff to complain about today, too. First, I was woken up at 7:45 by a chainsaw or leaf blower or other small gasoline powered implement. This will get a letter to the homeowners association and, hopefully, an investigation and a letter acknowledging that the party at fault was fined and had their chainsaw/leaf blower confiscated. Then I went to pick up a few racks of ribs at the grocery store (for a light lunch) and the checkout clerk was curt to me AND did not wait for me to enter the shopper's card number. First, I'm never going to shop there again, but I'm also going to start leaving collected dog poop in front of their store.

One of the old guys on my floor is leaving, which means there's a PLUSH office opening up. Will I get it? No. But it means there's a fresh someone for me to resent.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com