2006-09-25

Regular Restaurant Project: I went to a new place. It was really good - most of it was kind of buttery, full flavored French inspired stuff.1 I happily dropped way too much on this meal, but most of it was from drinking quite a bit of wine. Probably not completely unrelated, the bartender is pretty cute (visible tattoos... sigh...). There were at least 2 Elliott Smith songs, instead of, like, smooth jazz or something. And I saw 2 girls wearing neat cocktail dresses. I'll probably be back.

1 This is just from life experience generally, but I think my litmus test for most restaurants are 2 food things that can be really messed up when there is somebody who is inattentive or uncreative behind the wheel: the salad and the potatoes. I mostly don't like salad at all, so if a place does something nice with greens, it's a really good sign. And I rather like potatoes, so if a place serves sad-looking potatoes from a pastry bag, it gets a "see me after class." Potatoes do not need to be squeezed from a pastry bag.

After I got back from lunch I realized that if anyone heard me and this other guy talking over our sandwiches, they would probably get sick. It was like the worst version of the Gordon Gekko/greed-is-good thing. It's true, though - I would like to have a pile of money big enough to do the backstroke in like Scrooge McDuck. And if someone made fun of the dandy-ish affectations I'd inevitably adopt, then I'd have a something that shot them with white hot nickels shaped like ninja stars.

So many people are gone from the office this week, so my normal, everyday problems (getting motivated to actually get out of bed, shower and show up for work) have been compounded to the point where I am hostile toward anything being asked of me. There's also a girl who is pregnant. I'm not sure how you CAN'T be hostile toward this, because seriously - what kind of person gets pregnant? And lets other people know about it? People they WORK around? Geez louise. Pregnant. Just inexcusable.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com