2006-10-02

Halloween is approaching and so it is a good time to reflect upon The Worst Costume in the World. Universally, you will find it only on pre-teen to tweenage boys who earn Cs (or Bs in remedial classes) in school and come from below average income households (for the area). The costume is a hooded sweatshirt (usually like a dark blue or heather grey and zip-up, not pullover) and a faint covering of white or gray face paint, with blackish around the eyes and some red around the corner of the lip, possibly a stripe of red on the cheek, too. I don't know what the costume is supposed to be, but it speaks volumes about socioeconomic status and the American dream.

I got an extra dollar in change today and I quickly returned it when I noticed. I was quickly rewarded for my honesty when I found my passport, which I'd been worried about for a few weeks. So yay, I can go to places.

Today I complained a lot. It felt good.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com