2007-07-05

I realized something the other day that changed my perception of the last 12 months at work: my boss doesn't like the part of his job that involves managing me. He has two jobs sort of. One is supervisory and managerial and involves writing my performance review, etc, the other part is more technical and stuff and he likes that a lot better. If the jobs were his children, the managerial part would be locked in the closet and fed stale Pop-Tarts and flat ginger ale, while the other one is lavished with attention and given barely believable compliments. I don't know what I'm going to do about this, but it's there.

This is going to make me sound like a toad, but I don't care:
Why are we raising money to send white collar computer people, who do not know how to build things, to Africa to build things? There seems to be a tremendous amount of waste built into this. It seems like the right way to do it is:
1) Pre-fab them so this stuff screws together Ikea-style and send it over that way, so you are paying for white people to "experience" things.
2) Just buy more wood and tools and send it over with a set of plans and tools and maybe a guy with some specialized knowledge about building things to transfer knowledge, yeah?

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com