2007-08-02

This past weekend I was in the Bay Area visiting schools and some family. I was discussing food and stuff with my 85 year old great aunt and eventually we started talking about me moving to San Francisco at some point and she said "San Francisco is different... there's sexual things... the gays and lesbians." This was almost certainly the most awkward moment of the last 12 months. An ancient Norwegian woman attempting to articulate her views on sexual politics to me. Lovely.

Today I had the best lunch I have had in a long time, with my mentee and my muse (two different people). It's nice to talk to spend time with smart people.

Some new shoes: these edge out others in my collection for the title of the most gorgeous (it's easy to tell when I am wearing a new pair of shoes by the blissed-out expression as I stare at my feet). I need about a width up, but putting up with the minor toe smashing is worth it.

While in Napa over the weekend we ate a lunch at a place that had a weirdness about it. It was kind of informal but also stiff in places. Imagine a man in a tuxedo peeing in an alley. That's what it was like.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com