2008-04-14

People, I want to talk to you about Whole Foods and children.

I love cereal. I do not claim to be a cereal expert or anything, but I know what is good. I am rather fond of the Cap'n's line of products. I love Crunchberries and Peanut Butter Crunch ranks in my top 5.

So I was looking for cereal at Whole Foods and saw their version. It encourages you to think that it is Peanut Butter Crunch. It is not. It is more like Kix. The peanut butter flavor is subtle. There's a good deal of corn taste. It's more nuanced than PBC.

In any case, I don't it's really a "fun" cereal. I think about the kids who might grow up eating this stuff and they'll have the dour, salty constitutions (like me, I guess). There's not much joy

The back of the box does not have a maze or a puzzle that you can look at while you eat your cereal (you have to tear apart the box). Instead it tells you that pandas are dying. Endangered species are obviously a complex problem with no real easy solutions (except for us to stop eating panda burgers), but it is perhaps the wrong thing for me to think about at breakfast.

For me, when I read about things happening and things dying, I can't help but feel guilt. I imagine this is the same as a lot of people, since NPR pledge drives seem to have an end. The first thing I need to read in the morning is something like, "You're awesome! Let's go kick this day in the face and steal its wallet!" That's it. Sigh.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com