2008-09-22

I have been getting calmer after the bout of severe financial diarrhea that befell my firm. I mean really - what's a billion dollars? What's 4 years worth of profits? No big deal! NO. BIG. DEAL. I also have an interview at a smaller, less sick firm on Wednesday, which calmed me down.

Do we have enough albums that people call their "love letter to New York"? I think so. But people just keep making them, huh?

There's a guy at work who speaks to clients whose speaking voice reminds me of Young Jeezy - specifically the part: "If you get jammed up/ Don't mention my naaaaame... This ain't a rap song/ This is my liiiiife". Cocaine rap isn't that big at my workplace, though, so I doubt he was influenced by him. I also think the dancer at the start of this one has a tattooed armpit.

I was watching a movie this weekend and thought a bit about the The Unequals Hypothesis. You can come up with another set of films that contradicts this hypothesis. However I think the more interesting way to look at this sack of rocks is not gender, but social class. The older films - like the screwball comedies of the 30s and 40s - tend to feature women who are "socialites", which affords them the luxury to be a free-spirit and lets them act as a foil for the uptight male. Modern comedies often seem to use the "lower-status" party as the foil, somewhat irrespective of gender.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com