2008-10-17

Today I was talking to one of the senior guys and he started dancing around the idea that he has the will, means and network required to leave and start his own firm. Since our company is really sick. And he's sort of looking around for a few smart guys to poach. And maybe I could be a smart guy?

After a solid last week, I didn't get into work before 9am this week (10am today). It was bad, guys. I need better motivation. Morning stuff at work needs to be more engaging. I need something to do besides read the paper or call in to C-SPAN shows and filibuster about my pet issues, which are mostly constitutional amendments denying robots suffrage or the ability to hold federal office (yep - that's me!). I just don't think it is a good idea to have robots boss us around. However, I'm not in favor of limiting it to humans, since super-intelligent extra-terrestrials might make good leaders, if they become U.S. citizens.

Oh, Yahoo Answers.

Things I have drank recently: water, chocolate milk, Coke Zero, Cherry Coke Zero, Diet Dr Pepper, Diet Mt Dew, Sierra MIst Zero, Diet Pepsi, wine: something from Rioja, something from I think France, but it could've been anywhere, something else from Eastern WA, and another from Oregon.

Fun fact: On an M&A deal, a lead bank might make around 4%. A senior banker might get 10% of the bank's fee. For every $1b, the bank brings in $40m, of which $4m is going to the senior banker. This is why the ex-bankers who work at my office all have ranches somewhere in the Rockies and live in giant mansions and probably take helicopters to work.


- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com