2008-10-20

I object to commercials with tricky sounds. There's a "Nuva Ring" commercial (I gather that it is something I don't want to know much about) that has a marimba sound in the background that sounds like iPhone's pleasant, non-intrusive default ringtone. It makes me hunt around for my phone and feel like a jackass when I realize it's the TV. There's also a Verizon commercial that uses the sound of a vibrating phone that used to do the same thing. These are like listening to a song that has police sirens in your car and so you slow down and pull over. Stop this madness at once.

I like feeling pressure on my extremities. Like if I lie on a couch, I like to stick my arms in between the cushions. I like sitting with things on my legs - I carry around books in my bag that I don't really read and I use that. I think there are probably plenty of people like me and maybe somebody at a restaurant or airline would offer wooden "drawers" with space for a few 5 lb weights.

If you are longing for human contact - buy an airline ticket and try to get singled out for a frisking. Or go to the courthouse. Or the jail. Volunteering for additional screening doesn't work. You need to do something weird.

Notes from a fundraiser earlier today:
-You rarely see this many neckties in Seattle
-The average age was probably around 50-55
-A cash bar is so lame. I've been to events cheaper than this one and they had an open bar. I'm not sure what it take$ to get rid of it, but it is so gauche. And the only gin they had was Bombay Sapphire (so ick - use actual gin like Plymouth or something tasty like Hendrick's)
-Giant sushi platter was good, but I always feel weird about eating fish in a buffet-ish setting
-The petit fours/desserts weren't bad, but not wonderful
-I saw one guy who suffers from a catastrophically non-functioning musical self-control portion of his brain, so he dances when everyone else knows better - it's sort of leg movements, some thigh slaps, and head bobbing
-Rich people are good to see a concert with, because they do not treat it like a karaoke jam. Possibly because they don't know what these songs are.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com