2008-11-15

"Charm me asleep, and melt me so/ With thy delicious numbers"

I don't think it's about statistics, but it would make a lot of sense if it were. I bet a lot of people get turned on by statistics.

I wish the New Yorker sold a "crap-free" version. It would come out once a month and have some of the better "talk of the town" stuff, all of James Surowiecki's columns, the non-fiction journalism stuff, plus the book, movie, TV and music reviews. It would have none of the "goings on about town" crap and zero fiction stuff.

A narrative of a guy skateboarding: gets on board, moves forward for a few seconds, then attempts to jump and loses control of the board. Repeat for the next hour.

I saw the latest James Bond film and - spoiler - the villain seems to be taken from an episode of Captain Planet, I think. I sort of wish they'd go back to making the Soviet Union the bad guys. Money is an absurdly boring motive for a villain. An ethos is interesting.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com