2008-11-18

Lately I've found it difficult to get clocks to agree lately. The only one that really matters on a practical level is the one the bus people use, which seems ahead of most. But on a personal level, I get anxious when I am sitting in a room where there's a lot of different times - the wall clock, a computer clock, my phone, my watch - and none of them agree. I get tense, I'm quicker to accuse people of being too stupid to exist, I roll my eyes a lot more. Like the Incredible Hulk, in a way, but instead of getting stronger I just get more colicky and acerbic.

Kafka's office life. I like the phrase they use, "a form of strangeness that is more ordinary than we think." Working in an office normally alternates between numbing, suffocating, humiliating, and horrifying. Today I was in a meeting and the only words I really heard were the throwaway phrases that the talkers kept using to fill in silences - "so on and so forth", "essentially", "as it relates", etc. Ordinary strangeness seemed to describe it well.

State of emergency in Colombia... because of pyramid schemes. That's not something you want publicized. Complaining aboutguru-journalists is something I can get behind. The flags of French-Canada. I really like the Franco-Nunavois flag.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com