2008-11-25

Idling away the day, I came across stuff about Statuary Hall in the Capitol. It is hard not to see the epitaph for Marcus Whitman and not realize that it is nearly perfect. He wasn't just killed by Indians - he was massacred. So they killed a bunch of people at once. You need to wonder what was happening. Wikipedia doesn't disappoint. It points me to the Cayuse War and I never learned about this in my Washington State history class. I would've remembered it. A while ago, I learned about the Pig War and I was furious that I never learned about that. Instead we were drawing maps of rivers and attempting to figure out what's important about each region. The answer to any question like that was always one of the following: apples, wheat, trees, fish, airplanes.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com