2008-12-07

A new word I heard the other day: prorogue. When people on NPR say it out loud, it makes me think of "pierogie"

Good movies from the weekend: "Milk" and "Slumdog Millionaire." Theater hopping, I walked into "Four Christmases" for about 60 seconds and walked back out to find something that didn't make me so pissed off.

The last lines of Prufrock, translated through a few different languages:
"We are in the ocean, the bangeganeungeoya
In the girl's red color and brown seaweed
We wake up the human voice, we are out."

I think bangeganeungeoya came from Indonesian, but I don't remember.

Actual:
We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
Till human voices wake us, and we drown.'

Nouns and pronouns seem pretty easy to pass from language to language.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com