2009-01-10

One of my favorite notices in the Seattle Times. Do not bring your dogs to Dog Fest, people. This is a trade show about dogs, but we do not want your dogs.

I've been attempting to be less cynical and angry and vengeful lately, but I'm going to complain about peoples wedding registries again. This is from a wedding that "hurt" because I wasn't invited to it. I wouldn't have gone, but I should have been invited.
-Presto Electric Skillet, $44.99 (fulfilled). They aren't going to use it. Trust me.
-Cuisinart Mini Deep Fryer, $49.99 (unfulfilled). This is an interesting one. They ought to ask for the big one, since they live in the midwest, but I think there's a sense of shame and guilt about it.
-Hamilton Beach Electric Knife, $19.99 (fulfilled). I imagine the happy couple wandering around Bed, Bath and Beyond slightly drunk when they chose that.
-seven kinds of pancake turners, which is a great example of why so many people have contempt for the American way of life.

There's something contempt-worthy about the use of wedding registries to acquire a bunch of cooking gadgetry, too. There are tools that are useful - a powerful blender will make sauces smooth, and a Kitchen-Aid makes certain tasks a lot easier. But a pan, a pot, a knife, and a spatula will get you pretty far (more pancake turners and expensive pans won't make your food taste any better, but more butter and salt probably will). I think I'd rather ask my guests at my wedding* for books.

* - Slowly, each of the people my mom has picked out for me to marry have themselves been getting married and I can see that this is killing her.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com