2009-02-24

You are what you love and not what loves you back.

In my last (as in most recent, not final) session with Therapist, we talked about stage of life thing. The markers of growing up and what not. When one of my friends comes back from the East Coast and we go to a ball game, we might meet up with some people from high school who are nothing like us now. They never went to college, they started working in a warehouse, got married, had a kid or two, got a mortgage (a few years ago, when you could), etc. For some time I have thought about many of these things as a calamities of hyperbolic discounting. Given reasonable discount rates, many of the things that led to these outcomes were terrible choices. Given high enough discount rates, they might be sensible.

But anyway, why I am at Therapist to begin with. The other day I came upon the fantastically boring blog of my brother's first girlfriend. It is really about as boring as you could ask for - it's just a bunch of pictures of her 5 or 6 cats and commentary about them. I remember when she broke up with him. He didn't take it well and I think he grew a lot more cynical. It probably planted some of the seeds of some problems he had later. I was actually glad to see that she hadn't mentioned him on her stupid cat blog.

The extent of my Anonymous Internet Celebrity consists mostly of some Craigslist ads that have been archived as the "Best Of" and some semi-blurry, atmospheric landscape photography that has appeared as Andrew Sullivan's "View from Your Window" a few times.

"Pale Bride." It sounds exactly like "C'Mon C'Mon", which Major League Baseball uses in commercials. While searching for it, I found The Rat (The Walkmen) and The Rat (Dead Confederate, the uncensored version, where he says "shit for brains") again. Do you remember how things used to be fun before they got stupid? I miss that.

Another wedding registry critique for a wedding that I should have been invited to:
-Luggage: not bad, good start.
-Kitchen-Aid Pro mixer: this is the one that lists for $450 instead of the one that lists for $300. Too greedy.
-Stock pot: good...
-Cookware set: not so good. Too many superfluous pieces.
-Stemware: way too much of it.
-About $5000 worth of china: seriously.
-Shower curtain: Two different ones.
-Norelco razor: one of the more unusual things I've seen on a registry.

There was also some hand towels and other stuff. All in all, I thought this was a jumbled registry. It spoke of a couple that had been living together a while (they had) and didn't actually need things. It was luxuries mixed with some things they broke or needed to replace.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com