2009-05-17

Going through some old things, this made me laugh. "Money does not change people, you see. It allows us to express our highest, actual selves. Within many people lives someone unique, but poverty shackles that person. Only the most extreme wealth allows us to explore our person so completely." The premise was that helicopters are vehicles of self-expression, a form of art. We should consider the lives of the extremely wealthy in the same way we would consider a fine painting or a magnificent sculpture. As of today, this idea still has not taken off.

In high school and college I had a tendency to have very opinionated opinions. Sweeping and sanctimonious. When I started working, this abated a lot - it was a lot more measured, guarded, probably more precise. I only got to thinking about this because I've been writing a paper about a problem we have at work, and I was driving* past a place that gave me deja vu of the AP history exam, in which I wrote I wrote some awfully awful stuff. It's hard to address some these things I'm writing about now without sounding like a total dick.

* - I've found a long, extremely curvy street that runs up a hill, about a 15% grade. It is tremendous. It's more or less a series of hairpins - the posted speed limit doesn't get above 15, most of it is about 10. Just going 30 feels like you are going to slip off the side of the hill. The road has no shoulder, either - it's road, then white line, then nothing.

Driving fast is quite a bit of fun, but accelerating is more fun. Certain cars have a point on the tacho - on my car it is about 4500 rpm - when it feels like the car is getting away from you. The car starts pulling incrementally faster, like it is taking over control and leaving you behind. That is the best feeling in driving - the few brief moments when you aren't sure if you have control of the machine or not.

Songs most often listened to (by play count x length of song)
Your Rocky Spine
Speak Slow
Schiudete, ire al carcere
My Favorite Mutiny
Teenage Kicks
Partita No 2 in D Minor, Chaccone and Brandenburg Concerto No 6, 1st movement
Wake Up

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com