2009-07-03

Today I was at the grocery store and I was buying some 12 packs of my drug of choice - Coke Zero. My secondary superpower (after being able to find things to complain about) is that I am acutely aware of the suffering of others, so before I get to the checkout line, I rotate the packs so the barcode is visible and accessible without having to pull it out of the cart.

This superpower is probably why I considered divinity school. My weakness - that I am so enamored with television that I am unable to do much anything about such suffering - is why I never bothered applying to divinity school.

Of course, this is maybe 15% true. I'd very much like to think I do this sort of thing because I am concerned about alleviating the suffering of each person, but it is more that I worry a great deal about the checkout person resenting me. I am trying to move things along a bit quicker, trying to apologize for being there. Yes, I know there are medications for this.

She sang beyond the genius of the sea. God, I adore Wallace Stevens.

My job almost makes me throw up now. Let me say that a lot of kind of "bigger picture" decisions in investment management are not real tough. The order of precedence is 1. client, 2. yourself. You say, "If this were my money, and some other guy were doing this, what would I think?" That's being a fiduciary. Extremely basic stuff. But it seems to have escaped some of our senior management, who believe that people give us their money because they want us to figure out interesting new ways to line our own pockets.

It's sickening and frustrating, but I also think that's generally characteristic of most (not all) large investment firms. I look forward to my last day at this stupid job, when I can just move all my retirement money to Vanguard, in whom I have much greater confidence.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com