2009-07-05

The salad bar at work is, like most places, only based on weight. I was standing behind a managing director who said to someone that he chooses the most expensive things (food cost, labor cost) because they make less of a profit. I recognize this is a clue that he has some type of dissocial personality disorder - that he is willing to buy stuff he doesn't want to eat because he wants the salad bar to be less profitable (ignoring, of course, that they track the profit of the salad bar and they would raise the price if it weren't profitable enough).

Anyway, after he said that he joked about this product that I happen to work on and how profitable it is (it is a total piece of garbage and I have been trying to shut it down or fix it for a while now). The comment just made me feel icky.

When I am home alone I like to crank the air conditioning. It is super decadent to experience one of the distinct pleasures of winter - battling the cold by curling up under your comforter - in the middle of summer. I am very aware of how horribly wasteful this is, but that is precisely what makes it so magnificently decadent.

The best lack all conviction, while the worst/ Are full of passionate intensity

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com