2009-07-07

Bar trivia wrapup: we were not the winners. We came close, though. I think our team is probably 1 or 2 weeks away from being at a winning level. Too many careless mistakes, some better teamwork and we need another girl or just someone who is more familiar with celebrities. And maybe someone who is a little older. I think my biggest value-add came from my geography expertise and world history factoids (credentials: 8th grade social studies student of the year and Geography Bee star). I am pretty much useless on celebrities. I was able to contribute quite a bit despite my strongest areas (mathematical finance, empirical market microstructure, game theory, 20th century dictators, origins and uses of American political phrases, cooking and boat terminology, Dawson's Creek plotlines, and telephone area codes of the United States) not being covered at all.

I have a visa and a one way ticket to London. Feels weird to not have that return ticket.

My old company was sold recently, so I have to update a line on my resume. I emailed a guy I worked with to see if he wanted to grab some lunch. Turns out he moved to the Persian Gulf last week. My old boss is still local. I'm reluctant to talk to him, not because I'm not interested or don't like him. His daughter worked at the firm with my brother for a few months and I know they became friends for a bit, before she got married. I really don't want him to ask about my brother.

I might get to quit my job a bit early to do a consulting gig. Would be very welcome.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com