2009-07-15

Some college kids have been bugging me a bit more lately about jobs or what have you. I've been thinking more about my role in all of this. Sometimes I feel kind of like a drug dealer, but the kind who knows what they are doing and probably has some questions about it but has reasoned through them with a fairly extreme approach to destiny or free will or something. Reasonably innocent kids will ask questions about finance, and if I'm in the right mood I'll corrupt them by answering the comp question a certain way. Just draw them in a bit, and let their imagination take over - if they think of something like Scrooge McDuck. Once they do this, it is hard to stop them. By hook or crook, they will be working in finance. As long as they are thinking about the old pantsless duck in spats diving into the pile of money, they are going to be completely miserable. A good chunk of their best years are going to be ruined. Many of them do figure it out, they aren't real dumb kids - just do something you are good at, do it honestly and do it for someone who says "thanks" once in a while.

Some happenings today:
-I was in a car wash and it stopped moving forward, which was weird
-A garbage truck broke and dumped a load of garbage in front of our neighbor's house. It created a mess that took 3 or 4 hours to clean up. How do I know how long? Because I have been doing half-a-days.

Beverly Hills Teen. I remember this show. For some reason, I wanted to like this show, but I hated it then and I hate it now.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com