2009-10-04

I had dinner with my old boss tonight. It went well and he basically offered me a job working for him if I wanted it, but he let something slip that gave me pause about work in general. He was illustrating a point with a story that needed to explain that he was living in an apartment, not with his wife - they had separated. I'm pretty much certain it was because of the kind of travel schedule that brought him here.

It has been almost 5 years since I worked for him and I still remember his phone number - because it would pop up on my cell phone. A lot. Evenings, weekends.

It does make me wonder: whether or not I work for him, I'm going to be working a lot. Exactly how sustainable is the lifestyle, not just physically, but for the people around me. It is pretty much impossible to have a normal family relationship when you work 90 hours a week or are on the road 5 days a week.

We ate at this place - it was quite good.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com