2009-10-06

Today my roommate got double booked and because I am a nice guy, I went to one of the events to check his name off and stuff.

I stuck around and I'll be honest - I hated everything about this event. It was kind of like the finance equivalent of an art event. An epiphany that I've had several times before really clicked inside of me. There's makers and people who do things in every field, and then there are leeches and critics. These people were leeches and critics, albeit of a pseudo-academic variety. They really have no business talking about this stuff. They create minor celebrities and call them "important" and what not. It is difficult to pin down why they exist.

I guess the whole thing has helped right my ship a bit - reminding me that making and doing are important.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com