2009-10-26

Facebook's policy on profiles of the deceased. I'm not that wild about Facebook in general, but I really appreciate them giving some thought to this.

Monday evening wine tasting with the guy from Switzerland who has his own vineyard and wine shop... one of the (9 or 10) bottles - 1995 Chateau Musar, from Lebanon - it was great, but the only way I could describe it was "fruit leather." I think they make it by making a slurry out of like apples and strawberries and then drying it... I loved it. The echo of being 8 or 9 years old, eating Fruit Leather in the afternoon for a snack, after school. I'm not sure if actual Fruit Leather would have the same effect - the kind of unexpectedness is a big part of it, where you sit back in your chair and think about first or second grade, what happened to that girl who chased you around the playground, and wonder why girls don't do that in business school.

The Manifesto of Futurism by F.T. Marinetti: "We intend to sing the love of danger, the habit of energy and fearlessness." One of my prized possessions is a copy of the magnificent La Cucina Futurista. As a recipe book, it is terrible - among the worst I've ever read. But there's so much enthusiasm and conviction for the vision presented.

Look at the albums Jeff Buckley released after his death - eight of them.

Tupac only has 6 (including the linguistically stretched yet-to-be-released "Shakurspeare").

I love this dance that Rufus Wainwright does

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com