2009-12-07

I am not a warrior for consumer culture - in fact, I have openly criticized my parents for how much crap they hang onto - but I was thinking about experiences I have had in my parents' attic or garage and finding stuff that unlocks memories and that is just a really amazing, powerful thing. Like holding something you were holding 15 or 20 years earlier - it makes you feel so much smaller, I guess. And that maybe having so much of our stuff being digitized or the relevant format switching so quickly is bad because we're going to lose that.

---

A pretty regular happening for me is a crisis of faith about what I have chosen to do in life. You probably can't call it a crisis if it as frequent as it is - it's just a series of panic attacks, I guess.

The latest was came from being airlifted out of the reality-distortion field that is b-school. I heard from someone I hadn't talked to in ages. The last time was a wedding like 5 years ago. I think she was still in college. Now she does some kind of medical research and is going to graduate school in something medicine-y.

Now clearly, I am not doing God's work - I know I'm not curing diseases. But I don't think I am the top hat-wearing, mustache-twirling embodiment of evil (I do, however, think there are people at my school who might actually be that).

I think a common trait of a lot of business school students is that basically they pretty much refuse to be uncomfortable. Often this manifests itself in taking giant jobs with similarly sized paychecks at titanic corporations (discomfort is not having a 5-series).

I've come around to the idea that you ought to try to be uncomfortable - focus on the right direction and the magnitude will come. You could be uncomfortable being too evil - that's the wrong, thing, right? You could be uncomfortable being nice or whatever and that's the right direction.

My feelings on this are because I can't work well when I'm comfortable - physically and/or emotionally. I could get stuff done working at home, but I always came with any good ideas when it was really late at night or I bothered to show up to the office - the depressing, soul-crushing office. So anyway I think doing something awesome requires you to be uncomfortable in some way and that basically the problem with business school is that there's no risk-taking okay?

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com