2010-01-15

It's been an odd month. To recap...
-Finished finals, they were fine and not taxing at all. After about a week sans my normal friends here, I started going nuts. I looked up an airfare back home at about 4am and 24 hours later I was home. I told my sister so she could pick me up, but kept it a secret from mom. She's very emotive and a good person to surprise.
-While home, I had a meeting with the hedge fund and I have a job there if I want it. Which is great.
-Spent last week burning through a class: 1 week to an entire quarter-long class. I like it.

My brother's best friend was married on New Year's Eve. They were engaged last year at this time. The bride is a friend of mine, which was weird. Also she's pregnant now. I purposely made sure I wasn't in town for that. I'm not sure why. I am generally very supportive of the institution and I tend to find a fair amount of joy in wedding kitsch - this one was quite over the top - but I had no desire to be at this one. Perhaps it is because the invitation came in a box. Yes, a box - like it was for a framed picture or a string of pearls or something.

I don't know. I feel like I should be happier about it. I feel like I'm not happy enough about weddings. Or a lot of things in general. Maybe that's it. Being around finance and investment people, I think you just get numbed to actual things. You tend to allow your brain to put dollar values on things, but you often work with absurdly high dollar value things - millions and billions - so everyday life seems retarded and boring and not worth caring about somehow. You get detached, so you have to reattach yourself and your perspectives. Doing stuff helps. Shostakovich and Szymanowski on Saturday.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com