2010-05-10

I'm pretty much done with my thesis, with about a week to spare. I only really felt like I hit my stride with it in the last few days, so I'd prefer to get another few months to expand on some stuff, but for all the crap this thing was giving me (my first two topics fell through), it turned out okay. With some work, I think there's a publishable piece of work in there.

There's a set of movies that use the same plot, but I couldn't find it in TV Tropes - it's kind of a collection of tropes (The Paolo/Romantic False Lead, This is Not My Girlfriend, etc). This is the plot: a girl is engaged or dating a guy. She goes on a road trip with a different guy (who is abrasive at the beginning), and she winds up with that second guy.

The key point is 2 people who don't like each other are traveling together. So the difficulty with these movies is finding a reason to get these people who in a car together.

Some movies that are like this that come to mind:
-It Happened One Night (1934, the earliest example I can think of)
-The Sure Thing (1985)
-Overnight Delivery (1998)
-Leap Year and Letters to Juliet (both 2010)
-When Harry Met Sally (1989) started with a road trip, too
-French Kiss (1995) and One Fine Day (1996) are more or less this, with some variations

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com