2010-06-08

Watching highlights from 1960s baseball game, the way teams celebrate most things is by shaking hands. You only see the "pile on" - the thing that teams do after almost every game - after they win the World Series. It's strange to see guys rushing together... to shake hands.

Today I was reminded of one of my favorite movies: waydowntown. I've mentioned to people over the years, but I'm not sure if I've ever met anyone who actually saw it. I loved it - my brother and I rented it multiple times from the place near our house.

My parents have stockpiled chicken breast in their freezer for who-knows-what reason, but chicken breast - especially the frozen, boneless, skinless variety - is normally bland and not very good. This is the best chicken breast: salt, pepper, Maggi seasoning sauce, and whatever else you want to add to the bag. Sous vide the whole thing at 145ish. Grill for color. Leaves it juicy, still lean, the Maggi makes it taste meaty, and it works perfect to rescue the frozen stuff (both because it is gentle and because the frozen stuff tends to have very different sizes).

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com