2010-06-16

I'm out of town right now. Normally, I avoid renting cars when I travel, but I need one here - it's a small (but quite charming - it reminds me of Ashland) town, maybe 35,000 people or so, and it's about an hour from the airport.

So I have my rental car* - it is a shapeless maroon Dodge. I drove around a little to pick up a couple of things and then to the Main Street to grab dinner. Coming back, I unlock the car, open the door, and sit down. I look at the passenger seat and all of the things I bought are gone.

Were they stolen?

No. I am sitting in someone else's car - a shapeless maroon Pontiac - that was parked about 2 or 3 spots down from my shapeless maroon Dodge rental. Small town - people don't lock their cars, I guess.

* - One of the stranger things that happened to me when I rented my car. The guy said, "Okay, you're all set. See that blue one out there? That'll work, right?" Well, that was about the only car left, so I said okay. So I walk out to it. And it starts driving away. It was somebody else's car. Which was weird.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com