2010-06-25

TiMER is a pretty good movie - it's a rom-com but its primary plot device reasonably clever - a gadget that raises questions about free will. And also those websites where you'd type in the email addresses of people you liked.

I talked to a guy I used to work with this week and I'm pretty much sure I'll be joining his start up hedge fund. There aren't that many times in your life when a startup makes sense, but this is one of them for me. I have a backstop so the stability isn't an issue, but I'm also senior enough that I'll have equity in firm and can gain plenty should the firm really take off.

The other part is something I was discussing with my sister. She was having difficulties in her new job, at an upscale restaurant. She's not used to that "structure." I had plenty of it in previous jobs and I think I'm ready to work in an office with 3 other guys that I like, rather than 1,000 other people that I barely know.

I was in Chicago this week for an interview, and I met up with a friend for beers. The interview was okay - the job would be great, but the guy I'd be working for is a world-class asshole. So it probably doesn't make my shortlist of jobs I really want.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com