2010-07-20

Are you looking for a birthday present for me? This would be great! I'd take you if I bought it!

Looking back through my music collection, I have some stuff that other people would probably find embarrassing or just fantastically difficult to understand (this album was purchased in Hong Kong, and it remains my only souvenir from that trip and is a constant reminder to never buy books or albums because you like the cover ever again) honestly say the most difficult to explain phase was from 15+ years ago: dancehall reggae. It wasn't drugs, because I wasn't on them at the time. I was never into Bob Marley and only heard bits and pieces of bands like The Specials and Madness. But for whatever reason, I managed to collect a large number of dancehall albums over the course of maybe 3 months. It happened, I bought the albums, listened to them, quickly grew out of them, and have never listened to them since.

NOT SO FUN FACT: dancehall, some of which has extremely violent anti-gay messages, is one of the reasons cited for Jamaica being the most homophobic place on Earth.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com