2010-07-24

Yesterday I was up bright and early, which is uncharacteristic. I pulled out the dog leash, which usually cause him to go nuts, but he just sat there. So instead I went for a run by myself. It was fine - I kind of liked it, actually. The little aches telling you that you've done something. I've had a shitty relationship with running for a long time. The two biggest:
-Before club swim practice, we'd do a lot of "drylands" or "dry work" which was a euphemism for a collection of activities that were all unpleasant, to varying degrees. We'd do long runs and short sprints, and climb stadium stairs. None of them are fun, but my least favorite one was climbing stadium stairs on your hands, as someone held your feet. You wind up getting kicked if you are doing theholding, or your hands are getting chewed to pieces as you scamper up.
-Running in gym class. The class was called "net sports", but we still had to run. I hated that teacher. She threw tennis balls at me.

My favorite thing I've made lately. It goes on a taco. It is like an ultra-guacamole.
-Black beans (from a can)
-Walla Walla sweet onion, small dice
-Tomato (roma), small dice
-Jalapeno, very fine dice
-Cilantro, chopped fine
-2 or 3 corn on the cobs, roasted, with the corn cut off (maybe 30 or 40 minutes - you want the nibs to still be fairly crisp, not soft)
-Lime juice
-Avocado, mashed up
-Garlic salt (and regular salt) and pepper to taste (probably use more salt than you might expect)

It was fantastic. Everything is well integrated, nothing dominates the taste or texture. The corn is sweet and crisp, the lime juice and tomatoes are acidic, the avocado is creamy, the onion is crunchy. I could eat a bucket of this stuff.

It got served with well cooked onions and red pepper, with very thinly sliced flank steak (marinated in jalapeno, cilantro, garlic, lime juice, and a splash of vinegar) cooked in an extremely hot pan (with some soy sauce).

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com