2010-08-12

More about back-in-the-day. I was not a good metal or wood shop student. But I think I was semi-creative. One of our woodshop projects was a box. Most kids made boxes that were kind of like a cigar box shape. I chose to make a long, slender box that is intended to be stood up. This is a remarkably counter-functional design - not much fits in there, and it is difficult to remove.

I called it a "spaghetti box" because the box looked like spaghetti - the wood grain - and it could probably be used to hold spaghetti. Other things it could hold: tennis balls. Today, I think it is holding a rolled up poster. So it is a wooden box serving the same purpose as a cardboard tube.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com