2010-09-09

Robinson Crusoe Island

Soccer seems to embrace corporate naming pretty readily, but other sports have it, too. Like the soccer team named after a gross beverage, there's the Detroit Neon/Safari, named after cars. Hockey had the Detroit Vipers, also named after a car, and the old CBA had the Cedar Rapids Silver Bullets, also named after a gross beverage.

---

My first crush was first grade. A girl named Stefanie (I am reasonably sure it is spelled that way, or at least I am positive there was an "f" instead of a "ph"). We wound up in the same class for 3 consecutive years, before boundary re-drawing had her move to a new school.

Looking back at it, our school was not very good at challenging and nurturing young minds. Even the mildly gifted had a lot of downtime, which would sometimes get filled by sending one of the quicker students to the school "kitchen", where he or she would help. Kitchen is a somewhat grandiose term - it was essentially counting TV dinners and milks, putting them in racks, and helping deliver them to classrooms.

I'm not sure what my point was. I think it's this: I never saw her again after 3rd grade. And the most important part of a crush is that it ends - usually when you get to know them better, or just see them doing something completely stupid or disgusting, the little glass ornament that houses your crush is smashed. I'm not sure if mine ever ended - I think she's probably still pretty awesome.

---

I've been watching the dogs while my parents are on vacation. It's okay, but I've noticed my social skills decline even from their already low level. You need people around. Dogs don't offer much feedback. They also follow me around the house, wherever I go. It is flattering being viewed as a leader, but they have taken to sleeping on my bed, which I should've put a stop to.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com