2003-04-08

(trajectory of this entry using a scale of relative boredom-inducing properties: steadily increasing, meaning that each passing paragraph sucks more than the one before it)

Sammy Hagar album titles that sound like strip clubs to me: Red Voodoo, Little White Lie, All Night Long, Nine on a Ten Scale, Serious Juju, Red Hot, Danger Zone

For her last birthday I gave her knowledge and fortitude, though it was in the form of back issues of TV Guide and Sports Illustrated.

When spoken, "CentCom" sounds like "sit-com." When spoken, the plural "groins" sounds so very gross.

After today's interview (which has an anecdote attached to it, but not an interesting, funny or even very good one) I had a short nap. For lunch I had a reuben without sauerkraut/liberty cabbage, which is just a hot pastrami and swiss on sour rye. I wandered around a book store and saw a little girl, sitting cross legged on the commercial-grade carpet, pick up a book and say, "YES! Goblins!" About then I wished that either: A) she was 15 years older or B) girls my age would act more excited at the prospect of goblins, like her. For dinner I had polenta.

In the latter stages of interviewing, you get to interview with your would-be peers (would-be if you actually got the job, they are really just about your age). These are fun - it's usually like an hour or hour and a half lunch and the people you are interviewing with are the people you so totally wish would come to your birthday party at the skating rink. But that's exactly why aren't going to get the job: you aren't as cool as they are.

My dad buys newspapers, but I don't know if he actually reads them. Probably just the sports and scans the business headlines. I hate getting newspapers. They are annoying, take up all sorts of space (when accumulated), create one more thing that has be dealth with, and wildly inefficient (if you are thinking of a gift for me - don't make it a newspaper subscription). If you, in an age of the kind of technology we have, said, "I will hire people to write news, but if the news is too far away I'll buy stories from someone else. I will print this news on paper along with advertisements and will sell it or deliver it to subscribers' homes. We will replace it once every 24 hours." every single venture capitalist would look at you like you are a total jackass.

The local paper had a nice headline, though: "Baghdad penetrated." What kind of Freudian sickos are working there? Wonderful title for a concept-driven adult feature, though.

But I think I was trying to make a point earlier. It's this: I am completely bothered by having stuff like newspapers, but my dad isn't. It bothers me because I see no point to ever owning it, much less keeping it around. At some point I'll move out of my parents house and I'll have very few possessions. I'll spare you my the full rant about accent pillows for couches or beds, but they are completely useless.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com