2003-04-09

After I've spit into the sink, are my gums bleeding from brushing my teeth or is it just cherry Slurpee runoff?

One part of a job that intrigues me to no end: the Herman Miller Aeron chair (a slick PDF brochure). And I guess that might sound odd, but I only got to sit in it once during their interview process (the other chairs were cherry wood and matched the desks and other stately furnishings, the Aeron chairs were in the cubes and staff meeting rooms) and it was intriguing, but I'd like to spend a few more hours in it. You should also realize that a company that can spend $800 for a chair also has the resources to do other, slightly more interesting things. Besides, comfortable chairs are an interest of mine.

The rest of this will be lists since I'm not feeling especially creative or enterprising right now:

A few things I sometimes say I've read, but actually haven't: A Brief History of Time (Hawking), Beowulf (traditional), Canterbury Tales (Chaucer), The Bible (various), As I Lay Dying (Faulkner), Grapes of Wrath & Of Mice and Men (Steinbeck).

If you listen to this music, you probably don't have a girlfriend: They Might Be Giants, Barenaked Ladies, Weezer, or soundtracks to: Star Wars, Spinal Tap, South Park, Simpsons, Ren & Stimpy, or any cartoon.

Some movies about robots or cyborgs: Cyborg, Terminator, Terminator 2, Robot Monster, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3, Robocop, Robocop 2, Robocop 3, Heartbeeps (Simpsons reference! That's an even dozen today!), Six Million Dollar Man, Class of 1999 (that's when I graduated!), Blade Runner, Short Circuit, Short Circuit 2, Future War, Judge Dredd

Some comparisons:

Steve Forbes or Steve Forbes

John Edward or John Edwards

John Snow or John Snow

Eton or Eton

George Allen or George Allen

John Walters or John Walters

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com