2003-04-09

I make car parts for the American working man because that's what I am, and that's who I care about.

-Dan Aykroyd as Ray Zalinsky, Tommy Boy, 1995

I make text products for the American out-of-work man because that's what I am, and that's who I care about.

-Myself as Kid Tetris, this website, 2003

I don't care how many times it has happened to you or how little you actually want the job - every single rejection feels like a punch in the chest. And it's impossible not to take it personally because it's you they are rejecting. It's not a short story you put a few hours of work into or a website concept that you spent a weekend on - it's you. You the Person. They don't like you. And it fucking sucks.

Almost all Christmas music is awful stuff. There are a few redeeming songs, though. That's what I've been listening to because... I don't know, probably because I have nothing else to do. Holiday themed songs that are okay with me: "Father Christmas" by The Kinks, "Brick" and "Lonely Christmas Eve" by Ben Folds, "80 Windows" by Nada Surf, "Just Like Christmas" by Low, "2000 Miles" by The Pretenders, "Let Me Sleep" by Pearl Jam. There's probably a Jimmy Buffett song from his Christmas album. Maybe his cover of "Kalikimaka." Maybe not.

I got to thinking about how funny it is that we think of "perfection" as a good thing, but it's really kind of uncomfortable and undesirable. Like a restaurant. A "perfect" restauarant is actually kind of gross. It would be like a newly constrcuted Taco Bell or KFC. It's slcik and gross. Most of us desire that un-self-conscious realism that's associated with "authentic" Mexican taquerias or mom and pop cafes. Then there are the restaurants that attempt this "authentic" aesthetic - like Applebee's or TGI Friday's. That's more of the "bad perfect." I'll think about this more and come up with something a little clearer.

A sentence you can use for a short story that is taken from my life: "I knew three Scooters, but only one was obsessed with butts."

I suppose I should take a shower since it's about 1pm, but what's the point? Really - what. is. the. point?

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com