2003-04-16

Sexy:
Singing the Lionel Richie song "Easy Like Sunday Morning" while doing somewhat menial tasks.

Sexier:
Singing an Elvis Costello song while reading the New Yorker. Or something similar.

I had this plan to read 6 books a month (I read somewhere that the upper-crust men of 1900s America read 73 books a year). It started out fine, but I faded a little in March. Still on pace, but I'm deliberately sabotaging this plan by starting Infinite Jest. So just back off. I don't know if I've felt smaller reading a book than when I'm at page 1 of a 1000+ page book.

I was looking up a song on KEXP's playlist from last week, but I had the hardest time finding it because I only remember being in the car on Wednesday and it turns out it was played on Friday. What was I doing in the car on Friday? Where was I? It's strange - this blank, empty feeling. Everything just passes through me like a sieve. It doesn't stick, like Teflon. (May I please have more cookware metaphors? No! You've had enough)

Said I wouldn't say a thing about the movie, but during the previews I couldn't help but think Down with Love sounds a lot like Sex and the Single Girl. And had she not drowned, I would choose to be Natalie Wood if I could be any woman. Since she did drown (a disagreeable way to die, I think). I wouldn't choose Judy Garland because, while the gay cultural icon status is nice, the barbituate addiction is a big turn-off. I'll keep my real choice to myself for now, because this self-discussion is very entertaining to me. I can probably get about 8 paragraphs out of this. And I know that excites you.

I'd like to point out how full of crap school is. When you are in school - high school or college - they try to build you up by telling you that you can do whatever you want. That's only partially true. Sure you can be a consultant, but no one is going to actually pay you to do it. It's a grown-up fantasy. They should really tell you that you'll have a very hard time finding a paying job that you'd like to do, so you should save money and not use credit cards. You should live with your parents to trim costs and sleep in late because it's comforting and the self-loathing that's associated with sleeping late is what you should be feeling while you don't have a job.

People, please: trust the motives and hearts of your makers of things.

Bellevue and Seattle. I don't like driving in either place - Seattle because of its one-way streets (which are sometimes okay) and hills and lack of free parking and the hurried nature of downtown life. Bellevue because of its lack of free parking (there's some, but not enough by the big buildings) and freeway situation and hurried nature of "Bellevue" life and there's just very little that appeals to me about Bellevue. Okay, the Fidelity building on NE 4th is sort of arousing (should a building be sexual? Yes it should. Should a building with a company called "Fidelity" living in it be sexual? I don't see why not) and my friend lives there, but it seems more geared toward the over-35 population. Over-35 and rich. There's no place in Bellevue that's really targeted at my segment of the population. Everything's more for small families or actual adults. Seattle has stuff for the unadult adults. And that makes me feel comfortable. Except for Urban Outfitters. That place can rot in hell for all I care. What a bunch of hipster fucks they are. Also, I thought I saw my friend Pete sitting on the corner in B'vue today, but I realized he's in medical school in California. It was just some slacker like me. Hi Pete!

Also, I just wanted you to know that only the world's hardest hardasses see a steak burrito and think "movie food." People are scared of how cool we are. I'll always think of you when I'm walking into a dark theater with burritos in my pants.

Your friend,
Kid T.

P.S. Not a real big Lionel Richie fan - I just saw a guy doing singing that song while he was sweeping today.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com