2003-04-17

This activity nearly escaped me today, since I woke up at 1:30, did the crossword while I ate a bagel and then sank into IJ. The mileposts I give myself for this book are working and the minor sense of accomplishment I feel as I race past them are a source of self-esteem.

The normal familial discord has been replaced by much more elevated familial discord (Familial Discord Alert Level Orange for Elevated). My dad said that if he were in my position (I suppose he means "ungrateful good-for-nothing 22 year old son") he would get a low human capital, labor intensive hourly job and move out, because he can't stand my mother and sister right now. That's where we're different. They fight like hockey players but I just don't care.

Struck by this in a rejection letter: "we wish you every possible success in your search for a rewarding career opportunity." This is not true. If this were true, they would've given me a job - because that's a 'success', right? The only explanation is that they don't perceive this job to be rewarding. In that case, the letter should say:

"My dearest,
In our few meetings, I have come to care deeply about you. Your emotions are my emotions. And because of this - I cannot give you this job. You will be unhappy. I just want us to be happy and this job is a pile of crap. I'm going to quit my job here soon and we'll run off to the Mexican Riviera where we'll survive on money we pickpocket tourists and then make love under the weight of the loamy dusk. Afterwards we'll drink wine, smoke high-resin marijuana and use our bows and arrows to shoot the natives.

Forever yours,
HR Recruiter"

Things I want for dinner tonight: steak burrito or cheese pizza. If it must have toppings, I'd like ham ("Canadian bacon") on it.

I believe we're going on holiday over the weekend. I think it's Easter, which to me - like every other child raised devoutly agnostic - means pastel colored candy and the sulfur-like smell of boiled eggs. Hopefully this hotel doesn't have a kitchenette where one can boil eggs. Boiled eggs are so disgusting.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com