2003-04-16

Oh mother, it's eight a.m.

I haven't been awake this early since two Saturdays ago when I got up early to drive over to the Other Side of the state to see my brother. So what do I do when I've caught the day by its tail and am swinging it around my head in the manner suited to a misbehaving child? (Note: stop doing that to children) I watch some of Dawson's Creek and go over the form rejection letters I've got.

So instead of being idle, it's like I'm distantly reliving a few months worth of week days. Sort of like I'm a character in a Kafka story. Or maybe not. No, I'm not.

[start rant] Later today, I'll see "A Mighty Wind" but I won't write anything about it here, because I'm not that interested in what other people think of pop culture and writing anything about it would be violating my own sensibilities. Besides, everyone who has a blog is in the same demographic - you can get the same opinion on the same widely distributed nuggets of pop culture ("I like Lord of the Rings!" or "I like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot!") anywhere. Also, why would a movie be widely marketed at you if they thought the people they are marketing it to would hate it? You are supposed to like it. Just something to think about. Also, everyone liked Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.[end rant]

I have a confession: I have played video bowling far too much. And I've eaten 5 bagels in the past 30 hours.

My (male) friend is getting married in July. The cliche that (sraight) men are not involved in any decision making process relating to the planning of weddings is pretty much true in this case. My idea for black wedding invitations with a bulldog or snake silkscreened in silver or gold was well-received by him, but he said he doesn't really have much pull when it comes to those sort of things (even though half the wedding is his - maybe he could send out those classy invitations to his friends). Apart from the bulldog or snake, those wedding invitations would've looked a lot like my high school graduation invitations (also, I'm not going to college graduation because it's a huge sham). Another friend is getting married in May 2004. When I heard, I wrote him the best congratulations letter ever. You might get to see it if you are lucky.

If you pronounce Oslo as "ah-slow", then when you say it backwards it is "ol-sah" which sounds nothing like "also" which is what I think it should sound like when you say it backwards. But the point is that it isn't even the right way to say Oslo. It's "oos-low," so backwards it is "ol-soo" which is sort of like "also" but not very much. And my grandma told me that's how Oslo is supposed to be pronounced and I guess she'd know, since she was born there. But she's also 86 and pretty confused.

The Toronto Blue Jays used to have a problem with streakers. All the time. Things are different now. Maybe better, maybe worse - but definately different.

When it's windy and we are downtown, I like to pretend we're on a ship. Tall ship. We're at sea. Missing hands or legs or eyes, scurvy, etc

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com