2003-04-22

Why I won't be asked to give a best man's speech:

The only way to mix vinegar and oil is to stir so strenuously that one of the ingredients breaks. The oil separates into tiny molecules and becomes suspended in the vinegar. However, the oil droplets will bump into each other and become bigger and bigger, eventually separating into vinegar and oil again. To keep this from happening, we have egg yolks, which have lecithin, which is attracted to both oil and water. It prevents the oil droplets from joining forces and leaving its vinegar home.

You see, marriage is a lot emulsification. One is oil and the other vinegar and if it weren't for the rich legal and financial benefits (the lecithin in this metaphor), one of you would have little incentive to do this, but when everything is together we make thick, creamy, stable-suspension mayonnaise.

As most of you know, the groom and I spent several months locked in a tiger cage in the Mekong delta after indecently propositioning a local woman. I'm much bigger and stronger than him and, in my weaker moments in those last few days in the cage, the thought of making a meal out of him crossed my mind a few times. Truthfully, the thought never left my head and I often find myself dealing with a subtle lust when in his presence - the same kind of subtle lust you'd get when you are around freshly cooked bacon or shelves upon shelves of graham crackers.

But here we are - in a bowling alley conference room, attending a wedding reception, so hooray for cake! Hooray for the distant but ever-present sound of crashing pins and unrepentant swearing! Hooray for the drug and indecent exposure charges against me being dropped! Hooray for these two folks getting married! Thank you and please free Kevin Mitnick.

"The design and siting of a women's lavatory is not a neutral act but one that is shaped by historically and culturally specific notions."

When I grow up, I'm going to have a soda fountain in my house.

Tonight was "Country & Western Night" at the Mariners game and, just from the scenes they showed on television, you should be able to see why removing the not-baseball elements from a baseball game can make everyone a lot happier. One thing that drives me nuts about Safeco Field is the signage lettering uses this goofy font that's a mixture between Cooper Black and Comic Sans (or Courier and Comic Sans). It's pretty ugly and isn't real easy to read.

Most hockey goals pretty much look the same to me. And the worst angle for a camera might be the one that is inside the goal - all you can really see is the goalie's backside.

I've been cramming for this interview (because I got 23 hours of notice). I still need a haircut and a good reason for them to hire me.

I'm going to the bathroom, then I'm going to bed. Let's talk tomorrow. But I think you ought to know that that Flaming Lips EP with "Can't Get You Out of My Head" on it was released today.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com