2003-04-29

This bothered me a lot. In the parking garage of a building in Seattle, there are 5 levels of parking (A, B, C, D, E). And they are color coded - red, green, orange, etc. Further, they were given city names to help you remember. But "A" (top floor) is Chicago. B is New York. C is Seattle (makes sense C-attle, it's also the city we're in). D was San Francisco and E was Kansas City I don't see any logic in the naming of the floors, apart from C. Where did Kansas City come from? To me, the order would be: Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Edmonton/Edinburgh. See how that works? I don't think you really need to name them, though.

The John Wayne Cancer Institute. An unlikely name for a cancer institute, but so is Fred Hutchinson.

I don't think it's really being a techno-elitist, but I really really prefer getting news via RSS feeds (and put it in my newsgroup reader, please). I just like the speed of and number of reading decisions I can make with it. But what bothers me is that the Seattle Times and Seattle P-I don't actually have them. The King County Journal does (RSS here), but that's sort of the local gossip rag.

Does Seattle have too many steakhouses? It discusses Fleming's, which I went to once on an interview. I had a crab sandwich. Comfortable seats, as I remember.

The information contained on this page is completely wrong. The Mariners have had 2 no-hitters. Randy Johnson (June 2, 1990) and Chris Bosio (April 22, 1993). My music teacher from elementary school was at Bosio's. So much disinformation is out there, but that part is true - my music teacher was at the game.

Building "characters" for job interviews is sort of fun. I make it a conscious thing now. Because, while Kid Tetris the Lazy but Daring Cynic is entertaining and makes a lovely drinking partner, (I do not believe) he is not as employable as Kid Tetris the Statistical Wizard or Kid Tetris the Programming Fireball. It's also sort of fun to make up lies about what I do in my free time, because "argue the merits of various superpowers" or "take naps" is a little flaky.

I'm most productive at doing this job thing right now - at 3am - because there's nothing to distract me. No one IMs me at 3am. RSS feeds are pretty quiet and TV is lousy.

Job listing from India included these words: "Post Graduation or MBA from an institute of repute." How cute! The only time you'll ever hear the word "repute" in America is when someone says "a house of ill repute." Revealing one of my numerous ignorances - what's the origin of that phrase?

I liked this, too: "Strong desire to learn the investment banking business and develop into an analyst position, over time. Happy with being an associate until such time." We'd like you to neuter whatever ambitions you might harbor, or at least don't express them around anyone.

It's fun to apply for jobs, then get the confirmation email. Hooray! Someone likes me!

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com