2003-05-25

Freshman year, when collecting beer orders (not only because it's efficient, but it's also a bonding thing to know what everyone else is using to get drunk and while we're wating for it to arrive we can discuss the merits of each of our choices), one guy said "I'll just have 2 Miller Lites." Naturally, this struck me as a bit of a weiner thing to do. Rather than harshly ridicule him at the moment like people would expect, a friend and I actively solicited others to call him some derivative of it of "two", such as "Deucinator". Three years later he's engaged, graduated, probably a little more responsible than me and people still call him "The Deucinator." In some way, I'm sorry for making him put up with a nickname that really mocks him all through college (almost all of it happening after I transferred) when it's such a stupid thing to mock someone for - knowing your limitations on drinking. And also because drinking 2 beers in one night would be considered unusually high for me.

I made a kickass omelette the other day. Possibly the best in my entire life. Tip for myself for the future: whisk the eggs until your arm falls off. Or use a Kitchenaid for a few minutes. Six hours of Good Eats today = enough stuff to fill up Monday afternoon.

I've been sleeping between 12 and 14 hours a day, which I decided is just enough for me to not go insane.

I think a pretty neat low-level superpower would be to take an empty alluminum can, chew it up and forcibly (or not) spit it back out in a desired shape. Like a bullet or something sharp, of course, but also like metal origami. It would probably just be a pretty good bar trick, but I think that's an important thing to have - an arsenal of bar tricks. So much of who we are is determined by how we can entertain semi-drunk strangers.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com